Research Team

About the Center

 

Research Team

Northwestern University (Cynthia Thompson, PI)

Visit Northwestern University’s Aphasia and Neurolinguistics Research laboratory website!

 


Cynthia Thompson, Ph.D.
Principal Investigator, Northwestern University
ckthom@northwestern.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Elena Barbieri, Ph.D.
Research Associate, Northwestern University
elena.barbieri@northwestern.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

brianne-dougherty
Brianne Dougherty
Administrative Representative, Center for the Neurobiology of Language Recovery
Research Technician, Northwestern University
brianne.dougherty@northwestern.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

eddie-europa
Eduardo Europa

Doctoral Student, Northwestern University
europa@u.northwestern.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Sarah Holmstrom
Administrative Representative, Center for the Neurobiology of Language Recovery
Research Technician, Northwestern University

sarah.holmstrom@northwestern.edu

 

 

 

 

 

jennie-mack
Jennifer Mack, Ph.D.

Research Assistant Professor, Northwestern University
jennifer-mack-0@northwestern.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Matthew Walenski, Ph.D.
Research Associate, Northwestern University
matthew.walenski@northwestern.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

Johns Hopkins University (Brenda Rapp, PI)

Visit Johns Hopkins University’s CogNeuro Research Laboratory website!

 

 

 

 

 


Brenda Rapp, Ph.D.
Principal Investigator, Johns Hopkins University
brapp1@jhu.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

donna_JHU
Donna Gotsch
Language Rehabilitation Specialist, Johns Hopkins University
eugenie313@yahoo.com

 

 

 

 

 

 


Jeremy Purcell, Ph.D.
Post-Doctoral Fellow, Johns Hopkins University
purcel14@gmail.com

 

 

 

 

 

 


Jennifer Shea

Administrative Representative, Center for the Neurobiology of Language Recovery
Research Program Coordinator, Johns Hopkins University
shea@cogsci.jhu.edu

 

 

 

 

 


Yuan Tao, Ph.D.
Post-Doctoral Fellow, Johns Hopkins University
yuan.tao@jhu.edu 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Bob Wiley
Doctoral Student, Johns Hopkins University
wiley@cogsci.jhu.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

Boston University/Harvard (Swathi Kiran and David Caplan, PIs)

Visit Boston University’s Aphasia Research Laboratory website!

 

 

 

 

 


Swathi Kiran, Ph.D., CCC-SLP
Principal Investigator, Boston University
kirans@bu.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 


David Caplan, M.D., Ph.D
Principal Investigator, Harvard University
dcaplan@partners.org

 

 

 

 

 

 


Shreya Chaturvedi
Doctoral Student, Boston University
shreyac@bu.edu

 

 

 

 

 

Maria Dekhtyar
Lab Manager, Boston University
mardek2@bu.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Yansong Geng
Research Technician, Boston University
ysgeng@bu.edu

 

 

 

 

 


Natalie Gilmore
Doctoral Student, Boston University
ngilmore@bu.edu 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Sana Isaac
Masters Student, Boston University
saisaac@bu.edu 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Jeff Johnson, M.S.

Doctoral Student, Boston University
Administrative Representative, Center for the Neurobiology of Language Recovery
johnsojp@bu.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Erin Meier, M.S.
Doctoral Student, Boston University
emeier@bu.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

JenMorgan_cropped
Jennifer Michaud, MSc

Administrative Representative, Center for the Neurobiology of Language Recovery
Senior Clinical Research Coordinator, Massachusetts General Hospital
jmichaud1@partners.org

 

 

 

 

 


Alissa Varlamova
Masters Student, Boston University
alissav@bu.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

Neuroimaging and Data Analysis Team (Todd Parrish, PI)

 Visit Northwestern University’s Parrish Neuroimaging Laboratory website!

 

 

 


Todd B. Parrish, Ph.D.
Principal Investigator, Northwestern University
toddp@northwestern.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 


Rick Zinbarg, Ph.D.
Consultant
Professor in Psychology, Northwestern University
rzinbarg@northwestern.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jennie Chen
Jennie Yufen Chen, PhD
Research Assistant Professor in Radiology, 
Northwestern University
yfchen@northwestern.edu 

 

 

 

 

 


Darren Gitelman, MD
Consultant
Associate Professor in Neurology and Radiology, Northwestern University
d-gitelman@northwestern.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 


Ajay Kurani, Ph.D.
Post-Doctoral Fellow, Northwestern University
ajay.kurani@northwestern.edu 

 

 

 

 

 

 

James Higgins
Northwestern University
james.higgins@northwestern.edu 

 

 

 

 

 


Joyce Wang
Doctoral Student, Northwestern University
wangyanran100@gmail.com

 

 

 

 

 

 


Kristin Grunewald
Doctoral Student, Northwestern University
KristinGrunewald2013@u.northwestern.edu 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Mia Nunez
Doctoral Student, Northwestern University
mianunez2016@u.northwestern.edu 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Yiben Yang
Doctoral Student, Northwestern University
yibenyang2015@u.northwestern.edu 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1414
Lei Wang, PhD
Consultant
Assistant Professor in Psychiatry, Behavioral Sciences, and Radiology, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
leiwang1@northwestern.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 


Kate Alpert
Consultant
Software Developer, Northwestern University
k-alpert@northwestern.edu

 

 

 

 

 


Xue Wang, PhD
Consultant
Research Assistant Professor in Radiology, Northwestern University
xue-wang@northwestern.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 


Xiaowei Song
Neuroimaging Programmer in Radiology, Northwestern University
xiaowei.song@northwestern.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 


Dorothee Saur, M.D., Ph.D.
Consultant
Senior Attending and Lecturer in Neurology, University Medical Center Leipzig, Germany 

dorothee.saur@medizin.uni-leipzig.de

 

 

 

 

 

 


Bao Wang
Consultant
Adjunct Lecturer, Northwestern University
Doctoral Student, Northwestern University
BaoWang2015@u.northwestern.edu

Events   Upcoming Events
Contact Us Contact Us
CNLR@northwestern.edu
FB Like Us On Facebook